Hope in a Community

13681_794820453910911_6811042050159223067_n

Lets kick off the week by talking about why we are here, in the diabetes blog space. What is the most important diabetes awareness message to you? Why is that message important for you, and what are you trying to accomplish by sharing it on your blog? (Thank you,Heather Gabel, for this topic suggestion.)

I am new to the blog world and a little scared to share my thoughts on such intimate feelings about my chronic illness, otherwise known as Type 1 Diabetes(T1D). For years I was alone in my journey. Seriously…alone.  In 2013, I was on a quest to find more information about an insulin pump. After 20 years of Multiple Daily Injections (MDI), I was about to embark on pumping. It was such a confusing time. I was face with the decision of deciding which pump I would choose to be attached to 24 hours a day.

It was there, on the computer, I found a jewel of community called TuDiabetes. WHOA….there are people who do this every day …just like me.  WHOA….there are people who understand the frustrations that often results from this disease. WHOA…did you know this community has been around for over ten years?  HOLY COW….I can ask you about your experiences and how you handled this situation?  WOW…my diabetes vary from yours?  GRRRRR….you “get” that I am having a bad day. WHOOOO HOOO…someone is happy for me because I remand in range all day and they understand what a rare unicorn that is.

It is within this community called the Diabetic Online Community (DOC) where the message of “You are not alone” is loud and clear. And that message can be powerful in a world where once one felt alone, and in that discovery comes hope.

Hope is where the DOC stands at its strongest. Together, we are advocating. Together, we are fighting Medicare for the coverage of Continuous Glucose Monitors (CGMs) for those of over 65 and who are not just T1 but Type 2 (T2), and for those of us who will one day be over 65. Together, we are hacking diabetes devices to improve them and make them do what we want to do simple because we are not waiting. Together, we often offer encouraging words with those who need it. We are talking about the depression and burnout that often happens with chronic diseases that require 24/7/365 monitoring and treating. We are educating each other and exploring the upcoming new developments in the realm of our disease. More and more of us are participating in clinical trails for both T1 and T2. And together we are raising funds to help find a cure so that one day Type 1 will become Type None.  (I firmly believe that if a cure is develop for one, the other type cure will not be far behind.)

You are NOT alone and there is HOPE.  Those are mighty powerful words. And I am proud to be a part of the community who delivers that message every single day.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Hope in a Community

  1. I didn’t know you had started a blog!! Yay!! (I’ve been living under a rock recently, a rock I like to call toddlerhood and pregnancy). I look forward to reading more from you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

