Do You Still Love Me?

The following blog was inspired by an innocent question of a eight year old boy to his mother, who I love both to the moon and back.

Sometimes we, with a chronic illness, can only see how we impact those we love and cannot see past our guilt. And sometimes we need to be reminded we are worth way more than our broken parts and we are worth the unconditional love of those we love.  

There once was a  young one with diabetes who once sighed

As he said to his mother with sad eyes:

Do you still love me even though I have diabetes?

Do you still love me when I am so low and shaky?

Do you still love me when I have to stop what we are doing, and wait for my glucose number to rise?

Do you still love me when I miscalculate the carbs and go high?

Do you still love me when I miscalculate the carbs and go low?

Do you still love me when I have to drink all the water and to the bathroom I go?

Do you still love me when I forget to bolus?

Do you still love me when I cannot focus?

Do you still love me when you wake up in the night because Dex is screaming for attention?

Do you still love me when I am high and I cannot control my emotions?

Do you still love me when I have to call my day short and rest my tired body?

Do you still love me? Do you still love me my dearest mommy?

The mother pulled the young one to her and hugged him close to her heart

And with all the love she had, she then remarked:

Of course silly little one, my dearest little ball of fun.

I will always and forever love you my dear little one.

I would love you even if you had three noses.

I would love  you even if you had no toe-zees.

I would love you even if you were bald.

I would love you if you could not throw a ball.

I will always love you just the way you are

I will always love you my little star

For you are the perfect little one for daddy and me,

And you will always be loved with or without diabetes.

2 thoughts on “Do You Still Love Me?

Leave a Reply

