Mrs. Stoner. Are You High Again?

Diabetes Blog Week

Thank you Karen Graffeo at Bittersweet Diabetes for hosting the 8th annual Diabetes Blog Week. Our community thanks you for making our voice stronger, introducing us to new sites and increasing our tribe’s strength of thriving with diabetes despite what diabetes throws at us. Today I am choosing to the wildcard option. The following is the prompt for the wildcard #DBlogWeek:

Whether you or your loved one are newly diagnosed or have been dealing with diabetes for a while, you probably realize that things can (and will) go wrong.  But sometimes the things that go wrong aren’t stressful – instead sometimes they are downright funny!  Go ahead and share your Diabetes Blooper – your “I can’t believe I did that” moment – your big “D-oh” – and let’s all have a good laugh together!!  (This topic is borrowed from our 2011 #DBlogWeek.)

A Type 1 Diabetes Recipes For Bloopers, Laughs, and Jokes

Ingredients for Fun:

One person with diabetes

Name her Trip Stoner

Stir in some highs and lows; glucose tabs and juice and the jokes write themselves.

Examples of the fun:

My daughter’s friend who became an expert of Dexcom Beeps. The setting is the checkout line at the grocery store after eating pizza one Saturday afternoon:

Dexcom:  Beep Beep
Teenager:  Mrs. Stoner, Are you high….AGAIN?
Me; Maybe
Be sure to catch the cashier face and smile.

Dexcom: Beep Beep Beep
Daughter: Mom, your pancreas is screaming…do I need to bring you juice?

Same teenager spotting glucose values while ordering food at a restaurant:  OHhhhh Look -You are not high, Mrs. Stoner. I am so proud of you.

When my youngest was four, I went in the gas station to get me water for a high. While at the cashier my daughter shared:

We are getting water because my mom is high.

Dexcom: Beep Beep Beep
Daughter: Yes! Candy Time!  (Granted she was 19 at the time)

My daughter and I were having a serious conversations in the kitchen and I had silence a couple of Dexcom alarms and I knew I was dropping. I didn’t want to interrupt her thought process of solving a life issue. When suddenly…
Dexcom: Beep Beep Beep Beep
Daughter without skipping beep opens the refrigerator and throws me a juice box, and with a stern look:

“Really?  Mom….that was low move.”

One of my favorite stories is the letter I received from my general practitioner. I have seen him since I was 19. Heck, I used to keep his kids while I was in college. In his defense, he was using a new computer program system. Recently, after my yearly physical, my glucose level at the time of the blood draw was 118. I received a letter from him concerned that I might have diabetes and I needed further blood work to confirm the diagnosis. I told my husband…Look after 20 plus years of diabetes..I MIGHT not have diabetes!

Always look for the humor in the moment. Life is too short not to laugh. Laughter is the cure to most situation. In doubt? Next time you are mad…stop…and see if you can make it funny.

2 thoughts on “Mrs. Stoner. Are You High Again?

  1. I go one of those you may have diabetes letters from my insurance provider. Also in the letter was my quarterly statement describing their payment for my pump supplies.

    Oh good, see we are way ahead of the curve on this one.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment